In 1904, David Dobbins purchased approximately 170 acres of land from Boulder County with the intention of subdividing it. He platted a portion of this land in early 1906, calling it Floral Park - in honor of his wife, Flora. The platted land, now often referred to as Lower Chautauqua, included an area extending from 15th Street to 20th Street between Baseline Road and Bluebell Avenue.
In 1939, the area bounded by 15th and 16th and between Mariposa and Bluebell, was acquired by a group of eight, young University of Colorado faculty members. The block was purchased inexpensively through back taxes, and the area which was originally platted for ten houses was reorganized to accommodate eight lots. The City of Boulder agreed to vacate the alleyway. The intention was to create a privately owned "housing project" for the enjoyment of the eight growing families. At the philosophical core of the plan was the concept of a shared open space. A drawing was held to decide who would own which lot and an easement was obtained from each family for the creation of the central commons area - which is 90 feet wide and runs the entire length of the block between 15th and 16th Streets.
Architect James M. Hunter, then employed by the G. H. Huntington architectural firm, was hired to design the homes and a single contract was awarded to contractor John Nelson. Hunter also provided a landscaping plan for the Common area, but most homeowners quickly embarked on their own landscaping projects. Kitchen appliances, household fixtures and finishes were purchased in bulk to further lower expenses. The project aroused a great deal of curiosity during construction and traffic on weekends was often bumper-to-bumper along Mariposa Avenue. The cost of the entire project - which was divided among the eight households - included the purchase of the entire city block, the design and construction of the residences, the eight-car garage, and all household appliances and fixtures totaled $60,000.00.
The first house was occupied on January 1, 1940, while the last one to be completed was available on April 1, 1940. The new residents soon began landscaping the common space and constructing a community shelter house and outdoor fireplace. Handball courts, which were originally included in Hunter's landscape design, were never built; an organic community garden now graces that area. The gently-sloping site was originally dry, rocky, and treeless (despite its 'Floral Park' name) but today, many varieties of mature trees and foliage can be found - in large part due to the foresight and hard work of the original residents. Over the years, picturesque rock walls and pathways have been created that link residences and subtly define the perimeter of the Commons.
When the block was designated an Historic District in 1978, the only original owners still living in the complex were the Garneys (1505 Bluebell Avenue) and the Gecks (407 16th Street). In a letter written to the Landmarks Board at that time, Morris E. Garnsey stated that, " I am certain that thirty-five years from now a third generation of owner-occupants will look back upon the origins of this area with gratitude and admiration." In 2013, (thirty-five years after Garnsey's observation) one of the current residents reflected that Floral Park "is not just a collection of eight old homes, but a vibrant community strongly committed to the development's founding principles and legacy."
The Floral Park Historic District has played an active role in the community life of Lower Chautauqua. For four decades, the eight families hosted a legendary Easter Egg Hunt and Brunch for residents and neighbors. Today, the block hosts a Chautauqua neighborhood Fourth of July picnic and a Fall Octoberfest Potluck in the Commons.
Site Created by Nicholas John Wharton © 2013